Skip to content

Pintucks, moon dots, and ric rack

May 8, 2010

This is the result of nearly a week spent fiddling with the pattern, sewing test muslins, and fiddling some more. I have one more little shift to make before I’ll call this “Done,” though this particular shirt is ready for Lizzie to wear. She wanted to wear it today, but 54 degrees is a little too chilly to wear sleeveless shirts while playing outside. I just called her inside after a glance through the window found Lizzie dancing on the lawn in flip-flops and a leotard.

I’m out of the green dot print, so it will still be another few days before I get this shirt up on my Etsy store. I love living in my small town, but living here means being almost an hour from Spokane and things like, say green moon dots and twin needles when you need them. On the other hand, I’m forced to plan my purchases, and thus make less trips to the store. The same goes for grocery shopping.

Anyhow, now that it’s done, I’m so absolutely in love with this design! The main body of the shirt is entirely one piece of material, which is why it took me a while to figure out. Why? Oh, heck, I don’t know why! I thought it would be fun to try, and it was fun for the first three or four drafts. 😉

Things I love about this shirt: the ric rack, pintucks, and polka dots. I especially like where these three things intersect. These three things are the reasons why I love to sew, and the reasons why I love to design. You can’t add a pintuck unless there’s room for it in the pattern.

This is the one area that I’m still working on. It looks lovely as it is, but only because I starched the hell out of it! It needs rick rack, or binding, or a patch cut into that shape. I’ll have to think on it a bit. Any thoughts?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

