Skip to content

Singing Sea Shanties in the Dark

May 12, 2010

It’s late at night, but I’m still awake and still spinning Sea Shanties, that peculiar type of folk music I need to listen to when the sun is out and the air is crisp. For those of you who might not know what a sea shanty is, I’ll point you to the greatest shanty singers ever, The Starboard List. My sunny, magical childhood had these salty-voiced men singing in the background. (Whup Jamboree is my current favorite.)

Why was I in the mood? I finished putting the snaps on this sweet little shirt today.

I am so in love with this little shirt (and the girl wearing it!). We tried something a little different with the pictures this time – set up our own little studio. I stacked our dining room chairs on top of our coffee table, and then draped the chairs with a white sheet. Voila! Next time, I’ll have to take pictures of what it “really” looked like – do you think I can photoshop out the couch piled with laundry?


I still have a long way to go with my photos, but they’re improving! I kinda like the wrinkled sheet thing, and Lizzie’s chipped nail-polish. But, these are the things I’m drawn to: the imperfections that make things fun. Like the salty voices of those sea dogs. They’ve got soul, and they’re full of fun. And, sheesh. Lizzie can’t keep nail polish pretty on her fingers! As it is, we covered a truly awful haircut (given by Miss Pickle Pie to her royal pickleness) with a red headband. I told her that Snow White wears a red headband. (She totally bought it!)

tomorrow is supposed to be another beautiful day. Hopefully, I can get out of the studio long enough to dead-head the spring bulbs and prep the summer vegetable bed. I’m ready for warm weather!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 1:41 am

    I can’t wait to see my little niece in this top! Would you like me to send you photos when the time comes?

  2. ornartece permalink
    May 20, 2010 10:41 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian,

  3. May 21, 2010 3:08 pm

    Adorable!

  4. June 10, 2010 1:45 pm

    Ahh! This is the cutest top EVER! Seriously, I’m in love! If I had a girl I would need one for sure. Saw your comment on Tie One On and was intrigued by the name “Ginger Ale.” So glad I clicked! 🙂

Leave a Reply

