Skip to content

Gardens and Attempts to Relax

May 23, 2010

I really try to take one day off a week. Because life is unpredictable, this day is never the same from week to week. This week: it’s today.

I totally stink at taking days off! So far, I have folded the laundry, weeded the winter garden bed, and sewed up something new for the shop. Just sitting here, I feel twitchy and nervous and slightly suspicious that I might be breaking some unwritten law because I’m sitting on my back pockets.

This year, I got the winter garden planted in time! I’m so excited to have turnips, radish, bok choi, and spinach some a couple weeks from now. Just as planned, I will literally be harvesting (some of) these crops as I plant the summer seeds. I feel like I’m finally in rhythm with the Eastern Washington landscape. I need to find some good local sources for the plants I buy half-begun – tomatoes, peppers, etc. The growing season isn’t quite long enough to start these plants from seed, and I routinely kill my indoor starts. Did so again this year.

But I did find time to have some fun with my baby. Lizzie and I set up a little photo shoot to take pictures of this little red dog. Isn’t he a cutie? My great-grandmother made literally hundreds of these guys when she was alive. Dogs and giraffes. I want my husband to build a little shelf in my studio where they can live. This particular guy is Lizzie’s. Today, his name is Fritz. Who knows what his name will be tomorrow… Lizzie and I will have many, similar photo shoots in the future. I thought it’d be hilarious for the girls to make scrapbooks for their “babies.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2010 6:33 am

    Hey Jenn, I’m glad you decided NOT to close the shop after all, I think you’ll be much happier with the decision to just NOT do custom orders, although it sounds like you were getting quite a few? I live in the Tri-Cities and we don’t have any REAL fabric stores either anymore… well, we have Jo-Ann’s, but I don’t know… I guess it’s OK.

    As far as juggling everything, just set yourself a schedule… play with the kids from 2-4, computer time from 4-5, studio time from 5-8… something like that (I’m sure those aren’t the right hours, but you get what I mean! My daughter is almost 20 and busy with her friends, so I don’t have to make play time anymore!!

    Tania

    • May 29, 2010 12:27 pm

      Thank you so much, Tania. 🙂

      I had one, just one, super busy week with the custom orders, but that was enough to make my decision. Never really had more than a couple at a time before. Anyhow, I really strive to guard my family and guard my writing time, so I cottoned on to the issue almost immediately. Of course, I had a knee-jerk reaction, but hey. 😉

      Yeah, I’m back to having my ritual time slots for my work. So far, so good!

  2. May 29, 2010 6:34 am

    OH! And I almost forgot… I love the colorful granny squares you made, what are you going to do with them??

    Tania

    • May 29, 2010 1:13 pm

      Another afghan – one of my own creation, this time. For ME. I recently stitched together a bag of squares made by someone in town, and decided to attempt my own. 🙂

Leave a Reply

