Skip to content

Aja! Jenn, Fighting!

June 6, 2010

This has to be the silliest thing I’ve ever made, but I love it! This wall hanging is a graduation gift for the girl I spent the last few months working with. She designed and made her graduation dress – I helped coach her along the way. It was great fun for me because I got to get out of the house and chat with one of the few souls in town who knows how utterly awesome Korean dramas are.

No, really. They are!

“Aja!” is a word of encouragement. It means “fighting!” (I think), and it’s about gathering up your fighting spirit in order to attack the task ahead. We say it in the house (the girls and I) when we need to attack the weeds, the laundry, not peeing the bed at night, or fear of the dark. I tell my youngest, “Aja! Lizzie, fighting!” And she tells me, “Aja, Mama! You can fold that laundry.”

Anyhow, K knows all about “Aja!” and it just seemed a very appropriate graduation gift. The transition between home and Beyond is thrilling and scary at once: definitely the right time to call on one’s fighting spirit!

Might have to make one of these for myself.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 10:18 pm

    Hi- you won the drawing on my blog for fabric! Email me your adress so I can send it off to you! mobed@comcast.net

Leave a Reply

